top of page

Reunited and it feels so good!

I haven't blogged in over a week because life has been SO crazy since my babies came home. They got here last Saturday night and I was SOOO excited to see them! Their flight was delayed an hour and a half, and then their dad decided it was acceptable to take them to dinner to give them a "proper goodbye" before dropping them off, so they ended up being 2 and a half hours late. #soannoying But, the hugs and kisses were definitely worth the wait. Honestly, I weirdly felt like they might not remember me. I know that's so silly, but 6 weeks is just such a long time! Luckily, they did. Haha.

The first thing I noticed was that Louisa was talking better than she was when they left, and Lily seemed more grown up. She lost a tooth while she was in Florida, and the big tooth is already growing in. It makes her say certain words a little different which is so cute. I was just glad to have them home finally where they belong!

I had a little birthday celebration planned for Lily when she got home, so there were gifts and cake all ready! So, Lily was a little distracted to want to stop and take a selfie with us. But Louisa was happy to oblige.

Mark was glad to have his little buddy back, and I think the feeling was mutual!

We had fun watching Lily open her birthday gifts.

Louisa has become quite the poser anytime a camera is near.

The only thing Lily actually asked for was a Mermaid tail she could use in the water. So it was fun to surprise her with a whole Mermaid theme for her birthday, and of course she was SO excited to open up the tail! She wore it all evening!

[Side note: We haven't yet had a chance to use it in the water (other than the bathtub) so we're not quite sure yet how hard it will be to swim with, but the reviews say you really can--it's got a fin attached and feels like a big flipper. I'll be sure to give an update when she has a chance to actually try it out in the water!]

Louisa had fun wearing it too! See what I mean about posing!

One of our sweet babysitters is in high school and she's an amazingly talented artist! I found this idea on pinterest and sent it to her and asked if she could recreate it for Lily's birthday party! I was SO happy with how it turned out, and the girls were excited, too! [More to come later on the party.]

It was so late by the time the girls got to bed that night. They didn't get home until 8:30pm (an hour past Louisa's normal bedtime and 30 minutes past Lily's), but I obviously couldn't put them straight to bed, so we had some good quality time before actually going to sleep. They didn't get baths (or even brush their teeth because I couldn't find their toothbrushes in their suitcases that didn't get unpacked until the morning), but there was one thing I HAD to do before putting them to bed...

CUT these NASTY fingernails!!! I seriously can't believe he went a whole six weeks without cutting them. WTH? I even sent the fingernail clippers with them to Florida, and he claimed he couldn't find them (but somehow they came back in their suitcase???).

OMG. Sorry if this grosses anyone out. I literally couldn't believe it. I mean, honestly, I kinda can, considering they were with their lazy dad all summer, but come on. How does this not gross someone out enough to cut them?!? Hahahahaha. Just so you know, I also took a photo of the nasty clippings when I was done cutting all the little fingernails and toenails, but I will spare you all that one! ;-)

Either way, I'm SOOOO glad to have these crazy girls home. More to come soon on our fun-filled first week home in another post.

Meet Katie

Hi, friends! I'm Katie, mom of two crazy girls, Lily & Louisa, wife to my even crazier husband, Mark, and stepmom to two crazy boys, Logan and Colton. I'm so glad you're here, and I'm excited to share our adventures with you! Thanks for stopping by!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page