top of page

Sick Day

Yesterday morning Lily woke me up around 5 am to tell me her throat was hurting. Uh oh! Lily is normally my great sleeper, and even if she does wake up in the middle of the night for whatever reason (dream, bathroom, noise, etc.), she doesn't wake me up, she just goes back to sleep. Unless she's sick. So I knew this wasn't good.

I gave her a little ibuprofen and some throat spray, hoping it would be enough to send her school. But unfortunately, she said she just felt too awful to go to school. And she loves school and isn't a faker (like some other child I know, ahem), so I knew enough to know she must not have been feeling well. Now that I'm working at SMU full-time (and I don't have any vacation time yet), I decided I'd just take her with me. I have my own office and work independently most days. So, she got to hang with Mommy all day and see my work.

When we first arrived, we decided to grab some breakfast at Starbucks on campus. She hadn't eaten anything that morning because she wasn't feeling well, but her appetite was back by the time we got to work (side note: It's a long drive. She said she felt sorry for me that I had SUCH a long drive to work every single day. She understands why I'm tired when I get home! Ha!).

As we walked around campus, she marveled at what a beautiful place my work is! She said she wished she could work here and said I was so lucky! Yes, I agree--it's truly gorgeous!!!

Her breakfast consisted of: kids temp hot chocolate, a berry yogurt parfait, applesauce, a blueberry apple bar, and string cheese. She was clearly hungry!

After breakfast, she snuggled up on a little makeshift bed. We brought part of the couch from the waiting area into the office, and my sweet coworker let her borrow her soft blanket.

She brought a bunch of "supplies" for the day, including: her yearbooks (she LOVES looking through them), sticker books, colored pencils, a notepad, a Goosebumps book, and the iPad (just in case). She was ready! She also loved my stack of colorful sticky notes, markers, the whiteboard, and the fact that I could quickly print off anything from the computer.

She's so sweet! I love her little message for me. I'll probably leave it up for awhile!

She was super excited and talked about how she was happy/sad that she was sick today because even though she felt bad, she liked that she got to spend the day with Mommy and see my work. I get it, girl. I remember getting to stay home as a kid--I always got to lay in my parents bed while they were at work and watch TV all day. I mean, Price is Right?!?

We printed off a set of questions for her to answer. She picked the font and colors! I love her answers. This was also great for us to chat about some of her answers--I actually didn't know she was planning to enter the school talent show! That made me so happy!

More artwork for my bulletin board! :)

By the time we got to the office, she actually felt much better. I think it was more just that the ibuprofen was kicking in. Because a few hours later, she wasn't feeling well again, and I ended up taking her to the closest children's urgent care.

Turns out, she had an ear infection. The super sweet dr put her on antibiotics and she should be back to normal in a couple days. Yay!

I am so fortunate and blessed to have two very healthy babies. A little illness every now and then gives us a reminder that we need slow down, drink lots of fluids, get lots of rest, and that it's okay to spend a day lounging on the couch napping.

Lily is feeling much better today. She actually lost another tooth right before bed last night, so she was in a good mood and excited to go back to school and show her bestie!

Meet Katie

Hi, friends! I'm Katie, mom of two crazy girls, Lily & Louisa, wife to my even crazier husband, Mark, and stepmom to two crazy boys, Logan and Colton. I'm so glad you're here, and I'm excited to share our adventures with you! Thanks for stopping by!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Supermommy

King of Dads

Babyville

Krafty Kids

bottom of page